Alberta Cross - Songs of Patience (2012)

Alberta Cross - Songs of Patience (2012)

Enough with the dreaming – this one from Alberta Cross is good, solid indie rock. Think Band of Horses, Lifehouse, Remy Zero, Augustana – yes, I’m drawing on my knowledge of Smallville and One Tree Hill and other US TV show soundtracks for these comparisons.

Alberta Cross – Lay Down

But they’re not American – they’re from London. Admittedly, now based in Brooklyn, but Petter Ericson Stakee (vocals, guitar) & Terry Wolfers (bass) are FROM LONDON.

With clear blues and country influences, their sound is heartfelt, emotive, epic – you can see why they were picked up by ATO Records, founded by Dave Matthews of Dave Matthews Band.

This is one from their 2012 album, Songs of Patience, released a full three years after their previous full-length, Broken Side of Time. No UK dates planned at the moment but I’ll be keeping an eye out for them. Definitely one for the gig diary.

In the meantime – a session.