I think I’m missing Smallville.

I didn’t realise it until just now – I was looking at my feedly digest and came across a free mp3 off the forthcoming album from Seattle indie rockers Band of Horses, Infinite Arms, on RCRD LBL.

Band of Horses - Cease to Begin

Rather than just stop at the one track, I noticed another one, No One’s Gonna Love You and thought hey, why not – it’s free…AND above board.

I was certain I’d heard it before (Google says in the Season 1 finale of 90210), I just didn’t know it was them, and it brought back a whole flood of other songs that run along similar lines…the kind of songs that are perfect for American teen angst pop-rock soundtracks and have, for the most part, been used in them.

I mean that as praise.

Band of Horses – No One’s Gonna Love You (RCRD LBL for free download)

So of course, it reminded me of Smallville.

Last season’s “final” Lana/Clark unattainable love episode, “Requiem”, is potentially my favourite from the entire 8 seasons that have been aired in the UK so far. The “I love you but we can never be together because you’ll get hurt” theme has most definitely run before, and not just in Smallville, but this time the roles were reversed AND I actually believe them (more fool me…).

I’m not sure why it’s taken so long for e4 to pick up season 9 in the UK – perhaps it’s because the writers/network promised they’d wrap at season 8 and e4 are still trying to scrape together the surprise extra budget – but until it does air, here are some tracks to keep you in the angst-y zone, along with blog links where I’ve written about them before:

Band of Horses – No One’s Gonna Love You (again)
Vast – Don’t Take Your Love Away (blog)
Hipslinky – Natural (blog)
Augustana – Stars & Boulevards (blog)
Lifehouse – Everything (blog)

and another one by Band of Horses:

Band of Horses – The Funeral (blog)

Oh. I seem to have written about all of them, apart from this one, before. :)

Ok, here’s another one:

Air Traffic – Time Goes By (Acoustic)

Band of Horses’ new album, Infinite Arms, is out on 18 May and is available for pre-order on Amazon, but this track is from their previous release from 2007, Cease to Begin.